100 Easter Mondays

Last night I was listening to Irish folk music when it occurred to me that I’d done nothing towards commemorating the Easter Rising on my blog. 😮 Then it occurred to me that a playlist might be a very good way to do just that. Then it occurred to me that I’d completely neglected to make a playlist on St Patrick’s Day (or St David’s Day), even though I’d told myself I would. So that’s kind of embarrassing.

Nonetheless, I quickly scrawled out a list of my favourite Irish rebel songs and threw together this blog post. I hope that everyone enjoys, and spares a thought for those brave men and women who fought for their freedom.

 

The Rising of the Moon

Music by Turlough O’Carolan; lyrics by J.K. Casey; performed by Na Casaidigh/The Cassidys.

 

The Bold Fenian Men/Down By The Glenside

Lyrics by Peadar Kearney; performed by the Wolfe Tones.

 

Oró Sé do Bheatha Bhaile

Lyrics by Pádraig Pearse (yes, that one); performed by the Dubliners.

 

Come Out Ye Black and Tans

Lyrics by Dominic Behan; performed by The Battering Ram.

 

Rifles of the IRA

Lyrics by Dominic Behan; performed by the Wolfe Tones.

 

The Men Behind the Wire

Performed by the Wolfe Tones.

 

Wrap the Green Flag Round Me Bhoys

Lyrics by J.K. O’Reilly; performed by Luke Kelly.

 

The Bhoys of the Old Brigade

Performed by the Wolfe Tones.

 

The Foggy Dew

Performed by Sinéad O’Connor and the Chieftains. The clips used in the video are from The Wind that Shakes the Barley and Michael Collins.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

