A Ginger Attempt (and a Sweet Idea)

Two months ago I was looking for the ginger root that I was sure we had somewhere. I found it, hiding behind the onions, but I also found that I wouldn’t be using it in my cooking. The half-used ginger root had sprouted.

IMG_5774_2

Quite amused by this daring ginger-root, which had sprouted inside a woven bag with no water or light, I showed it to the rest of the household. Everyone agreed that it was quite an endearing sprout. I thought it would be a shame to throw it in the bin, so I decided that I should plant it and let it keep growing. The next day I found a pot and some potting mix and planted it in the atrium. From then, apart from the odd watering, I left it to its own devices. Two months later, I’m proud to say it’s doing very well!

IMG_7549
It’s hard to see but there are two smaller sprouts growing beside the big one.

Then, a few days ago I was digging through the pantry for some potatoes. I found a sweet potato which I considered using until I discovered the same problem:

IMG_7547

Except it was not so much a problem (given I didn’t actually need the sweet potato) as an opportunity. I told some friends about this and one of them happened to be well-versed in the art of plant-growing. They said that sweet potatoes grow on a vine, which I would never have guessed, and that they make quite a nice ornamental plant. So I’ll plant the sweet potato in another pot in the atrium and we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

